SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
  #1  
Old 05-17-2012, 09:46 AM
OL Mike's Avatar
OL Mike OL Mike is offline
Championship Contender
View OL Mike's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portand org
Posts: 1,190
Default My Artin track

Here is a close look at my Artin track. Left to right Attachment 30796

Attachment 30797


Attachment 30798 Attachment 30799 As you can see the cars and driver get a work out to make it around the track. its more skil than speed . I use a Carrera Go!! transformer to power and the Go controllers. I got over a year just working the bugs outs I put in the jumps hooking the wall port up that works the best These new fast lane champions I think run the best the stay on and dont deslot as See the hair pin on the far right is a bear. my hope is show you all.That you can make a cheap slot cars work just as well with just a little no how Attachment 30801 Attachment 30800 save money and have fun OL MIKE

Last edited by OL Mike; 08-05-2012 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2012, 01:37 PM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is offline
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 6,258
Default

I bought a couple sets of those Fast Lane cars, and my son's GO! power pack won't run them. Even holding the wheels up they slowly accelerate. As soon as I put the car down, even at full speed, it bogs right down. All the Go and SCX cars run fine, though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2012, 02:12 PM
OL Mike's Avatar
OL Mike OL Mike is offline
Championship Contender
View OL Mike's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portand org
Posts: 1,190
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=az0BNoecoe0http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=JHG7LJgMCqE they will help understand why
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2012, 02:51 PM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is offline
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 6,258
Default

My first thought was that the Fast Lane (Artin?) cars take more amps than the Go! and SCX Cars, and that the Go! power supply does not supply enough to keep it going under load (caused by the magnets). I have a spare bench PSU that I was thinking about wiring up to my son's track so he can use these cars, but I'm not sure I'm ready to cut the wires just yet.

What's your solution to getting these cars to run on a Go! track?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2012, 03:11 PM
007's Avatar
007 007 is offline
Top Qualifier
View 007's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,495
Default

WOW!!!
NOW THAT'S COOL!!!
FAR OUT!!!

Dig it!!!

Ol Miike I think I like it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2012, 05:39 AM
tjdeman's Avatar
tjdeman tjdeman is offline
National Racer
View tjdeman's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 172
Default

I like how you alternate crossovers with curves to make racing lines. I'm going to try that on my next setup. Cool idea, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2012, 07:07 AM
OL Mike's Avatar
OL Mike OL Mike is offline
Championship Contender
View OL Mike's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portand org
Posts: 1,190
Default

Here a Ruff pic >>>>Attachment 30811<<<<< you can make a wal port by using straight pice of track i made ruff to show ypu how to wire it up hope this helps you

Last edited by OL Mike; 08-05-2012 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2012, 08:01 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is offline
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 6,258
Default

Thanks, Mike. I know how to wire a track. I like the way the carrera power track works to switch polarity, though. My main question is, what is your source of power? Is it a Carrera Go! power supply? I'm thinking not, since you showed that even a Go! power supply put directly to the car braids was not enough to get it going. If not, then what power pack did you use?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2012, 11:17 AM
OL Mike's Avatar
OL Mike OL Mike is offline
Championship Contender
View OL Mike's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portand org
Posts: 1,190
Default I made this short movie to help

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=NT7hO8lPwTw
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2012, 11:40 AM
Z1R_Darryl Z1R_Darryl is offline
International Racer
View Z1R_Darryl's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default

Hey Mike, Very Cool track.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-18-2012, 01:23 PM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is offline
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 6,258
Default

Thanks, Mike! That explains it all. I'll probably wire up my spare bench power supply to the track so that the Artins run better.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2012, 01:38 PM
jhrico jhrico is offline
National Racer
View jhrico's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 313
Default

I can run artin/fast lane cars with a carrera PP. the trick is to bypass the turbo resistor and the thermal protection. but different controllers are needed because at 14.8V and with the amps the artins draw the go!!! controllers start to melt
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2012, 04:11 PM
OL Mike's Avatar
OL Mike OL Mike is offline
Championship Contender
View OL Mike's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portand org
Posts: 1,190
Default

I can run artin/fast lane cars with a carrera PP. the trick is to by pass the turbo resistor and the thermal protection. but different controllers are needed because at 14.8V and with the amps the artins draw the go!!! controllers start to melt <<<< by jhrico If your Carrera go!! controller are getting hot or melting. Then you need to put a jump in track. A jumps is a wire that cross the other side of track from the wall port to help with the draw of amp’s the car uses to get around the track When you a buy a police chase go set its size is 11.81 ft. the wall port that come with the set works good for the cars But let say you make that track 33 feet or 3 times bigger then you would need to put a jump about 15 feet to make up for the draw of amps that car use to get around the track this will help Attachment 30824 this track set on a 16 by 3foot table it work good my other track 14 by4 feet Attachment 30825 OL Mike

Last edited by OL Mike; 08-05-2012 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.