SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum

Go Back   Slot Car Illustrated Forum > Scale Racing > Digital

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 07-19-2012, 07:54 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
Digital Advocate
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 5,863
Default

No space is unlimited. Even your property has a limit on the size you can build a structure. If you're literally going to set it up out in the yard with a tarp over it, well... first off you're nuts, but second, you STILL have a limit.

That said, I'll assume your limit is quite big, and not a factor in this discussion, nor will your method of protecting your layout. So, I would say a straight of about 30' would be just enough to let most 1/32 cars get to their top speed for a split second. There are layouts with longer straights, but I think that more is overkill. A 30' straight would give you plenty of distance to cover with fun turns on the way back, including a nice corkscrew.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-20-2012, 11:46 PM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

Well I got Mr. Changs book today so now its time for some reading lol
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-21-2012, 01:18 AM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

No, i know better then just putting a tarp over it for protection. Like I said it will be under a pavilion. Haven't decided on how to enclose it yet is the only reason I say an "outside" setup. I don't want to just build a separate building for a slot car setup so I'm looking into various ways of weather proofing the sides. Could be as simple as using plastic walls but I doubt it. I'll figure that out after deciding on a layout and space requirements though so I know how much I'll actually be enclosing. But thank you for the concern lol.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-21-2012, 08:24 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
Digital Advocate
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 5,863
Default

Well, the thing with slot car tracks is that they tend to fill up the available space. Even if you set yourself a limit in a given room, that limit usually increases until the room itself is the boundary. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 07-21-2012, 02:01 PM
dw5555's Avatar
dw5555 dw5555 is offline
Championship Contender
View dw5555's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 2,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFlippant View Post
Well, the thing with slot car tracks is that they tend to fill up the available space. Even if you set yourself a limit in a given room, that limit usually increases until the room itself is the boundary. ;-)
Ain't that the truth!!!!!
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 07-21-2012, 04:36 PM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

Lol nice
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07-21-2012, 04:44 PM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

Never is enough is it lol

Last edited by devast8r3436; 07-21-2012 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:57 PM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

Ok maybe a stupid question, in Daves book it says new Carrera sets come with the control unit instead of the black box? Did I read that right? If so is that the upgrade control unit?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07-22-2012, 01:46 PM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
Digital Advocate
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 5,863
Default

Err... yes. When they talk about "Control Unit", it's the new one. "Black Box" is the old one.
Just look for sets that come with the one that's a nice arch rather than an ugly black box.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-22-2012, 05:08 PM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

So will I still want the upgrade if I went carrera?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-22-2012, 05:19 PM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
Digital Advocate
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 5,863
Default

What upgrade?
Remember that the brands are all separate. A "thing" for one brands is not "for" another brand.

If you get a Carrera set that has the Control Unit, then you've already got the new control unit. There's no upgrade to that. There are still other accessories that you might want, such as a computer cable, or lap counter, or other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-22-2012, 06:16 PM
devast8r3436 devast8r3436 is offline
Club Racer
View devast8r3436's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Searcy AR
Posts: 72
Default

Ok that's what I thought just wanted to make sure
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.