SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
  #16  
Old 04-22-2018, 09:36 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is offline
SCI Mod / Digital Guru
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 9,093
Default

Glad you were able to resolve the problem!

I'm surprised the throttle doesn't have a way to calibrate for this kind of situation. With a magnetic hall sensor as the mechanism for reading trigger position, it should be able to configure the fully pulled position as 100% throttle, not make you move the stop point. What happens if you move it too far, or not enough? Surely there's a way to tell the controller where top and bottom are.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-22-2018, 09:50 PM
Modlerbob Modlerbob is offline
Top Qualifier
View Modlerbob's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DeBary Florida just north of Orlando
Posts: 3,065
Default

All I know is that after I discovered that the trigger stop for full throttle was about 1/16" short of its furthest forward position and I moved it as far as it would go I was delivering the same voltage to the lane as with another controller. Later driving the car in the race I was getting the same performance as I had a week earlier with my difalco. Problem solved.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-08-2018, 07:04 PM
Modlerbob Modlerbob is offline
Top Qualifier
View Modlerbob's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DeBary Florida just north of Orlando
Posts: 3,065
Default In need again for a WAM

This time I hooked it up incorrectly myself. What a dolt. So I am again hunting for a WAM that someone tried and didn't like. Please send a PM if you know of one that is available.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-09-2018, 07:42 AM
Modlerbob Modlerbob is offline
Top Qualifier
View Modlerbob's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DeBary Florida just north of Orlando
Posts: 3,065
Default

I think maybe I have discovered the component that fried when I crossed the black and the white leads. It turns out to be a transistor that costs about $1.50. There are two on the board so I will replace both of then. What have I got to lose for $3.00.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-21-2018, 12:32 PM
sascws90's Avatar
sascws90 sascws90 is offline
International Racer
View sascws90's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 655
Default

What was the verdict Modlerbob????
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-30-2018, 10:04 AM
Modlerbob Modlerbob is offline
Top Qualifier
View Modlerbob's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DeBary Florida just north of Orlando
Posts: 3,065
Default

I was unable to get the WAM working using the transistors I bought. I have a friend who is an electronics expert coming down from up north in October and I will have him take a go at it. In the meantime I procured a new WAM from one of the members here and it is working fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.