SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
  #1  
Old 11-19-2009, 01:37 AM
glp glp is offline
International Racer
View glp's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Buffalo
Posts: 502
Default DS lap counter

I am leaning towards getting a DS 200 lap counter for my NINCO layout but would like some opinions first. Is anyone using this and how do you like it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2009, 02:07 AM
Black3sr's Avatar
Black3sr Black3sr is offline
Championship Contender
View Black3sr's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kitchener,ONTARIO, Canada
Posts: 1,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glp View Post
I am leaning towards getting a DS 200 lap counter for my NINCO layout but would like some opinions first. Is anyone using this and how do you like it?
I have been using one. Initially I had a lot of trouble. I returned the first two as they did not work. The third from another dealer worked like a charm. It has survived freezing temps in my garage for over a year now.

I recovered the gantry over the track

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2009, 06:09 AM
~SY~'s Avatar
~SY~ ~SY~ is offline
Novice Racer
View ~SY~'s Photo Album
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 29
Default

IMHO The DS kit is quite expensive and doesn't really offer much for your investment, true you can add a PC to it, but that pushes up the cost further. If you want a PC based system, you can make the actual gantry and lap counting sensors quite cheaply, take a look at http://asr.avasig.com/index.php?page...ter-and-timing for a simple parallel port interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2009, 07:06 PM
mtalley mtalley is offline
International Racer
View mtalley's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Burke, Virginia, USA
Posts: 643
Default

Hello –

I've had a complete DS set (light bridge, lap counter and Stop and Go boxes) for the past 6 years, and it works great still to this day... It's plug and play, and reliable. Just make sure you buy the correct power source from Radio Shack. The only lacking thing is the Winslot software, but I believe there are other available software that works. Hope this helps!

Regards!

Mike Talley
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2009, 07:29 PM
scrjon's Avatar
scrjon scrjon is offline
Championship Contender
View scrjon's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Union Mo
Posts: 2,838
Default

i have 4 lane so i use the ds300 plus add on 334 and i love it best money spent
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2009, 05:52 PM
Victory Lapper Victory Lapper is offline
National Racer
View Victory Lapper's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 262
Default

I have been using DS systems for 10 years now and I love them. They are extremely easy to set up and use (except that you may have a little difficulty at first because the instructions are not the best they could be but you get past that quickly), compact and portable, and very reliable, even under conditions bordering on outright abuse. I have a 4-lane system on my track and it does everything I need and more. I use another one on a track that goes all over the place for public participation events and it has been totally reliable, even when used and handled by non-experts. It is well worth the money. One hint: use the light bridge, not the sensor tracks.

M2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2009, 06:46 PM
B52RN's Avatar
B52RN B52RN is offline
Championship Contender
View B52RN's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 2,715
Default

I've been using a DS200 for about 7-8 months now and have never had a single problem with it. I was a little intimidated with hooking it up at first - I'm not an electronics kind of guy - but once I put my feeble mind to it, it was actually fairly easy. Also, I use the light bridge, not the sensor track.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2009, 04:00 PM
glp glp is offline
International Racer
View glp's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Buffalo
Posts: 502
Default

thanks for the replies. I plan on purchasing one and will start looking for one. I will use the light bridge. What are some of the difficulties with hooking it up?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2009, 04:53 PM
scrjon's Avatar
scrjon scrjon is offline
Championship Contender
View scrjon's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Union Mo
Posts: 2,838
Default

reading the instructions is the hardest and if you use a light bridge you have to cut the bottom of your slots out so the light beam shows thru
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2009, 05:45 PM
glp glp is offline
International Racer
View glp's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Buffalo
Posts: 502
Default

Can I still use the stock NINCO terminal track for controller and power hook ups?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-21-2009, 06:31 PM
svanaken's Avatar
svanaken svanaken is offline
National Champion
View svanaken's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glp View Post
Can I still use the stock NINCO terminal track for controller and power hook ups?
Yes, the DS 200/300 system is completely independent of your power connections. I was racing with it within 15 minutes of pulling the bits out of the box. One thing is that the light bridge does fit under whatever section of track you are using for the start so it will be elevated a bit higher than the rest of your track. Suggest fitting the bridge somewhere that cars will not hit it (like the middle or end of a long straight.

As mentioned, the instructions on the various functions are not well written. At least not on my DS 300. I have had mine for nearly two years and it has functioned flawlessly the whole time. The place I got it also had a proper power supply and sold it to me with the set at cost. I wish I could remember who it was so I could give them a Kudo.

Scott

Last edited by svanaken; 11-21-2009 at 06:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-21-2009, 07:10 PM
glp glp is offline
International Racer
View glp's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Buffalo
Posts: 502
Default

I have been looking but can't find a place that has it in stock.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-13-2018, 04:14 PM
Robert Robert is offline
Championship Contender
View Robert's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abbottsford B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,291
Default DS Lap Counter

I just received my DS Lap Counter,and there is no instructions. It is the model DS-200 Pro for two lanes. I also have the older Metal Light Bridge that plugs into the DS-200. I can get power too the DS, but not too my Light Bridge. Anybody know of any instructions out there. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.