NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
Old 04-21-2011, 07:51 AM
Novice Racer

Default Life-Like Cars?

I have no experience with Life-Like cars and was wondering how they compare to Tyco 444x2, Mega G, SRT and Super G+ cars. Any input would be appreciated.
Old 04-21-2011, 08:48 AM
Pit Crew

Ob their fast and magnetic working with the brushes makes a diff. Sounds like you have. A nice stable of cars . Just got back into . 4-16 ho track in house.can't type fast enuff.... Just picked up some wizard storm cars fast stock out of box you will like them. Bsrt coming in mail probably today....have fun..
Old 04-21-2011, 09:01 AM
International Racer
View HOguy_56's Photo Album

I assume that you are talking about the modern T chassis (Which come in all the sets now)

And not the older M chassis (can only be found online anymore)

Comparing the T to other chassis:

Tyco 440-X2: The LL is a mush faster car than a Tyco. It has stronger magnets as well. However, the T chassis is much harder to control than a 440-X2

Super G+: Not quite as fast as the Super G+

Can't comment on MG or SRT.

My review: This car is not well suited for small home tracks running on a 22V Tomy wall wart. Despite strong traction mags, the motor has too much power, causing many spinouts. Even with a Parma 45 Ohm econo controller the car has very little low end. Another issue that I have noted is that if the pickup shoes are not fixed up in a specific way, the cars will have issues on Tomy's banked turns. Having said this, there is some variation in the cars that makes some of them more driveable than others. Some are just a nuisance to drive, while others can be fun for a while. I am pretty sure these cars are better suited for the Life Like track than other brands. Having said this, I would still buy a couple at least for the NASCAR bodies.

Last edited by HOguy_56; 04-21-2011 at 09:03 AM. Reason: picture misaligned
Old 04-21-2011, 10:18 AM
National Racer
View maxxdout's Photo Album